Race Report 23/12/19

Radcliffe AC members enjoyed the red carpet treatment at their movie-themed Christmas party and annual presentation.

They dressed up as an array of colourful film characters for the event at the Bolholt Country Park Hotel, Bury.

The club championship consisted of road, trail, fell and cross country races, with prizes for each age and gender category from junior up to Vet-70.

The Terry Nortley Cup, named after the former club president and coach who died in 2011, was awarded to Neal Emmerson for his exceptional performances. His achievements include representing England Masters in the Maidenhead Half Marathon, winning the Central Lancashire Grand Prix competition and setting a new club marathon record of 2:31:06 secs.

The Radcliffe AC Shield went to the junior coaching team of Peter Warr, Ian Hopkinson, Amanda Callan and Amanda Darbyshire for their outstanding contribution to the club.

The Nellie Halstead Trophy, named after the Radcliffe Olympian, and the Norman Schofield Cup, named after a former member, were won by Elaine Bailey and Chris Whittaker respectively for their commitment to the club.

Tracy Wroe was the most improved woman and Mike Scott the most improved man. The cross country cups were won by Ian Warrington and Donna Cartwright.

The age category winners were:

Women: Junior Grace Williams; FSEN Katie Percival highest points total and highest race average; F35 Amanda Callan total and average; F40 Deborah Barrington total; Donna Cartwright average; F45 Karen Doherty total, Caroline Malone average; F50 Paula Abernethy total, Jenny Yates average; F55 Tracy Wroe points, Kirsten Cook average; F60 Elaine Bailey total, Sheila Jones average; F70 Sheila McNulty total.

Men: Junior Alex Pullan: MSEN Robert Short highest points total, Neal Emmerson highest race average; M40 Craig Norman total and average; M45 Mark Garner total and average; M50 Dave Rushton total, Mark Williams average; M60 Peter Cook total and average; M70 Iain Harris total and average.

There was also a special participation award for 31 members. It was named after the club’s former head coach Eileen Royle who died in 2017 and is given to recognise their dedication to racing.

David Schofield won the award for the best fancy dress.

On the racing front, Fiona Lynch notched up yet another podium finish in an ultra race when she was third woman at the Tour De Helvellyn in Wales.

She covered the 38-mile course with approximately 7,000 ft of climbing in 7:41:25.

Karen Doherty ran in the Ian Holloway 70th Birthday 5k race at Cowm Reservoir, Whitworth.

Seven Radcliffe runners took part in Heaton parkrun. Sheila Jones clocked 24:01; Nick Barnes 25:52; Deborah Barrington 28:23; Helen Sandiford 29:40; Bev Quinton 33:45; Iain Harris 33:46 and Lisa Donnelly 38:09.

There was also a good turnout at Bolton parkrun where Robert Short was third in 19:41 and Katie Percival was second female in 22:38. Also running were Dave Rushton who clocked 24:37; Mark Williams 30:02; Elaine Bailey 30:55; Mike Scott 33:22; Lucy Tetler 34:39; Sarah Rushton 36:34, and Lucy Dewhurst 36:35.

A night at the movies…Radcliffe AC members at their presentation.

Most improved Female  Tracy Wroe.

Nellie Halstead Trophy winner Elaine Bailey.

Women’s cross country champion Donna Cartwright.

Two of the award-winning junior coaches Ian Hopkinson and Amanda Callan.

Fancy dress winner David Schofield with Vet-45 winner Caroline Malone.

Wizard of Oz-inspired costumes.

Some of the great fancy dress costumes.


A selection of the photo booth photos

No Replies to "Race Report 23/12/19"

    Got something to say?

    Some html is OK